What’s more fun that flying through Lake Erie waves on a Jet Ski? Or a Sea Doo, or Waverunner, or whatever. Let’s talk personal watercraft here.
The sun on your face, your hair blowing everywhere, your music pumping as you rev up to The speeds of 65 mph. You can do donuts or jumps on waves.
The Ohio shores of Lake Erie offer plenty of spots where you can rent a personal watercraft for an hour, or an afternoon.
Just know that Ohio law requires boaters born in 1982 or after to complete either a boating course or proficiency exam. In Ohio, children under age 12 may not drive a personal watercraft. Children 12-15 can drive, as long as an adult is on-board.
Make sure you wear a lifejacket and sunscreen — and maybe a wetsuit, if it’s chilly. Ready to go?
This list is roughly organized west to east. If we missed your favorite rental shop, comment on our Facebook page.
Put-in-Bay Jet Ski, Put-in-Bay
Location: 4 Bath Street
Reservations: Available online or at 419-285-SKIS
Cost: $110 an hour, plus $5 fuel charge. Must be at least 18.
Put-in-Bay Watercraft Rentals, Put-in-Bay
Location: South Bass Island State Park
Reservations: Accepted online
Cost: $65 an hour
Endless Summer Island Charters, Marblehead
Location: 8620 East Bayshore Road
Cost: $110 for an hour
North Coast Parasail & Water Sports, Sandusky
Location: 1 Cedar Point Drive, n the Cedar Point Beach, just outside the Cedar Point admission gate near WindSeeker and the Extreme Sports Stadium.
Hours: May 14-Sept 5., 10 a.m.-7 p.m.
Reservations: Available online
Cost: $140 an hour
Location: 609 Mariner Village
Cost: $125 for the first hour
Great Lakes Watersports, Cleveland
Location: West bank of the Flats, near Music Box Supper Club
Cost: $110 an hour for one person, extra $10 for passenger. You must be 21, unless you are 18 or older and are accompanied by a parent.
Rock and Dock Marina, Downtown Cleveland
Location: East 9th Street Pier
Hours: 9 a.m.-7 p.m., beginning in May
Reservations: Available online, or 216-804-1152
Cost: $110 an hour, plus $10 for passenger. Drivers must be 21.
Best Coast Water Sports, Geneva-on-the-Lake
Location: 5404 A Lake Road East
Reservations: Can book online. Must be 21 or older to rent or drive.
Cost: $110 an hour